Akufo-Addo Makes Injury Time Police Promotions  

The Inspector-General of Police (IGP), Mr. James Oppong-Boanuh The Inspector-General of Police (IGP), Mr. James Oppong-Boanuh

President Akufo-Addo, has done a last minute promotion in the Ghana Police Service, which has four Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCOPs) to the rank of Commissioners of Police (COPs) and 23 Assistant Commissioners of Police (ACPs) to the rank of Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCOPs).

A release signed by Superintendent Sheilla Kessie Abayie-Buckman, Director, Public Affairs of the Ghana Police Service on Friday, said the promotions were upon the recommendation of the Police Council.

The interesting thing about the appointments, were that some of the officers elevated were no long overdue for promotions.

Some had even had their juniors and people they had trained, promoted over them. Some of these juniors had been two to three years in their ranks and appointments to various offices into the service, is by virtue of political connections.

Many, also see the promotions as an attempt to entice the Police Service less than two months to the 2020 General Elections with reports emanating from the Police Service and the Ghana Armed Forces, the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) is not enjoying any goodwill in the two security institutions.

Failure to promote police officers was cited as one of the major reasons the National Democratic Congress (NDC) lost the votes of state security agency during the 2016 elections which brought President Akufo-Addo to power, however, the decision to keep a retired Inspector General Police (IGP) in office on contract after his mandatory retirement age, while sending his juniors home, could be the waterloo for the NPP government.

The four newly promoted Commissioners are; Mr Vincent Redeemer Dedjoe-Director-General/ Police Professional & Standards; Mr Godfred Owusu Boateng- Bono Regional Police Commander; Mr Kwaku Boadu Peprah- Director-General/ Operations and Mr Frederick Adu-Anim- Director-General/Information Communications Technology.

The 23 newly promoted Deputy Commissioners are; Mr Joseph Obeng- Deputy Director, Service workshops/ National Headquarters; Mr Peter Baba Atinak- Deputy Eastern Regional Police Commander; Rev. Father George Arthur- Director, Religious Affairs/National Headquarters; Mr Emmanuel Afriyie Sakyi- Deputy Accra Regional Police Commander; Mr Nelson Opoku- Deputy Director, Audit/National Headquarters; Mr Vance Baba Gariba- Director, ICT/National Headquarters; Mr Isaac Emmanuel Quist- Administrator/CID Headquarters; Mr Kwasi Akomeah-Apraku- Deputy Volta Regional Police Commander; Mr Alexander Kwame Amenyo- Deputy Upper East Regional Police Commander; Mr Dennis Abade Akob-Dem- Deputy Central Regional Police Commander; Mr Haruna Saeed- Director, Payroll/National Headquarters.

Others are; Mr Moses Ali Kpachin- Deputy North East Regional Commander; Mr Sebastian Atsu Wemegah- Deputy Oti Regional Police Commander; Mr Charles Botwe- Officer Commanding Regional Police Training School/ Kumasi; Mr Michael Nketia Frimpong- Finance Officer, National Police Training School/Accra; Mr Ernest Akrasi Kirk Mensah- Deputy Western-North Regional Commander; Mr Francis Nyametso- Director, Serious Crime Registry/ CID Headquarters; Mr Ebenezer Larbi- Deputy Savannah Regional Police Commander; Mr Charles Kwabla Normesinu- Director, Inspectorate Unit/ National Headquarters; Mr Samuel Alfred Winful- Tepa Divisional Police Commander- Ashanti; Mr Francis Agrippa Oppong- Offinso Divisional Police Commander- Ashanti; Mr Ebenezer Ampofo- Berekum Divisional Police Commander- Bono/Region and Mr Martin Kwaku Ayiih- Commanding Officer Central MTTD/Accra.

"Mr James Oppong-Boanuh, the Inspector-General of Police extends heartiest congratulations to the promoted officers and wishes them the best of luck in their new ranks," the statement said.

Source: www.theheraldghana.com