EC, Akufo-Addo conniving to fraudulently steal Techiman S. seat – JM

The clash between the police and the Minority at the precincts of the Electoral Commission The clash between the police and the Minority at the precincts of the Electoral Commission

Former President John Mahama has accused the Electoral Commission, its Chair Jean Mensa and President Nana Akufo-Addo of working together to steal the Techiman South seat from the main opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC).

Condemning the prevention of the Minority Caucus by the police on Tuesday from presenting a petition to the EC in connection with the Techiman South parliamentary results, the presidential candidate of the NDC in the just-ended polls, said: "Tuesday was a sad day for Ghana's democracy when the Minority Members of Ghana's Parliament were prevented from presenting a petition to the Electoral Commission in respect of the recent parliamentary election in Techiman South".

"But let me congratulate the Minority Leader and the Caucus for stepping out boldly in defence of the democratic rights of Ghanaians", he said.

According to the former President, "the conduct of the Electoral Commission (EC), with the tacit support of the incumbent President, Nana Akufo-Addo, using security personnel acting capriciously even toward Members of Parliament is not something anyone could have envisaged in our beloved country in the course of our 4th Republic".

"Clearly", he noted, "the EC and its Chairperson are in connivance with Nana Akufo-Addo to fraudulently keep the Techiman South seat on the NPP side".

"This is a clear subversion of the will of the people", Mr Mahama added.

He saluted "all who have had courage to call out the EC and the Nana Akufo-Addo administration in this brazen act of trampling on the democratic will of the people" and restated the party's "challenge to the EC to come out and show Ghanaians their Results Summary sheet and pink sheets for the Techiman South Constituency".

Meanwhile, the state, represented by the Ghana Police Service, has dragged Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu and ten other opposition MPs to court for marching to the office of the Electoral Commission in contravention of the Public Order Act.

They have also been charged with unlawful assembly.

The other ten MPs are Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka, Samuel George, John Abdulai Jinapor, Rockson Nelson Etse Kwami Defiamekpor, Ras Mubarak, Mutawakilu Adam, Ebenezer Okletey Yerlabi, Dr Kwabena Donkor, Bashir Alhassan Fuseini and Kwabena Mintah Akando.

There was a near-violent standoff between the Minority Caucus in Parliament and about 100 heavily armed riot police officers on Tuesday, 22 December 2020, as the marching lawmakers tried forcing their way into the headquarters of the Electoral Commission, which is about a kilometre from the Office of Parliament, to present their petition to the election management body concerning the election results declared for the Techiman South constituency after the recently-held general elections.

The MPs, led by Mr Iddrisu, were mostly clad in black and kept daring the armed police officers to "shoot us" and "kill us".

The police said the MPs needed to have served notice of their protest to the law enforcement body in accordance with the Public Order Act but the MPs said they were just taking a walk, reported Class FM's parliamentary correspondent Charles Akrofi, who marched along with the crowd amidst the melee.

The protest march by the Minority Caucus followed several pockets of demonstration across the country by members of the main opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) against the Electoral Commission and its management, who they have accused of stealing victory for the incumbent.

Out of the 13,119,460total valid votes cast, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) polled 6,730,587 votes representing 51.302 per cent.

His closest contender, former President John Mahama of the NDC, polled 6,213,182 representing 47.359 per cent.