Ghana Seeded Ahead Of CHAN Draw On Wednesday

Ghana Seeded Ahead Of CHAN Draw On Wednesday Ghana Seeded Ahead Of CHAN Draw On Wednesday

By Fiifi Anaman

The local national team of Ghana will be seeded in Wednesday’s Championship of African Nations (CHAN) draw at the CAF Headquarters in Cairo.

The seeding, CAF has announced, is based on the performance of teams in the two previous editions in 2009 and 2011.

Ghana were silver-medalists in the maiden edition held in held in the Ivory Coast, but failed to qualify out of the group phase in the second edition held in Sudan.

Maxwell Konadu’s team qualified for next year’s tournament in South Africa – Ghana’s third consecutive tournament - without having to kick a ball, after qualifying opponents Benin withdrew from participation.

Read: Ghana’s local Black Stars squad set to face Libya in a friendly

The team has however been playing some friendlies, playing the Ivory Coast in a double header in Kumasi and Obuasi back in June, as well as losing by a goal to nil to Libya in Tunisia just weeks ago.

READ: Yakubu Mohammed inspires Ghana to a friendly win over the Ivory Coast
Ghana have been seeded alongside hosts South Africa, DR Congo and Zimbabwe. The draw will be at 12h30 GMT, and will be conducted by CAF General secretary Hicham El Amrani.

The ceremony is expected to be graced by CAF President Issa Hayatou and members of the CAF Executive Committee and Chairman of the Organising Committee, Almamy Kabele.

Chief Mwelo Nonkonyana, Board Chairman of the Local Organising Committee and other Board members, Dr Oliphant, Dr Jordaan and Mr Mazibuko, as well as Mvuzo Mbebe (Chief Executive Officer of the LOC) and Kirsten Nematandani (President of South Africa Football Association – SAFA) are also expected to be there.

Proceedings, according to CAF, will be telecast on the likes of SuperSport and SABC.
Read: Hearts of Oak’s Selasi Adjei dropped from local Black Stars squad

Apart from the four seeded teams who will be in pot 1, the remaining 12 teams are spread across the remaining pots; Gabon, Mali, Libya and Uganda will be in pot 2, with pot 3 consisting of Burkina Fasa, Burundi, Ethiopia and Nigeria. Final pot, pot 4, has Mauritania, Congo, Morocco and Mozambique.

The main tournament in South Africa next year takes place from the 11th of January to the 1st of February in three host cities: Polokwane, Cape Town and Mangaung.